From the Library: Two English Composers

in Daily Programme

by Elrik Merlin on Thursday, 22 January, 2009

Today’s programme prominently features the work of two well-known English composers of the first half of the 20th century or so: Ralph Vaughan Williams and Sir Edward Elgar.

Ralph (pronounced “Rafe”) Vaughan Williams (1872–1958) is one of Britain’s best-loved composers, and one who is at last becoming more widely recognised as a truly great figure in the world of music. Today we are playing performances of many of his best-known works along with some that will be less familiar.

No-one could be regarded as more ‘English’ than Sir Edward Elgar (1857–1934). We will be playing a selection of his works, some well-known – such as the Pomp and Circumstance Marches – and some much more seldom heard, including the Nursery Suite, which British listeners with long memories might possibly remember as being played on commercial television on 1960s afternoons between Schools programmes. Included in the programme today is a performance of the latter conducted by Sir Edward himself. You will also hear the magnificent Enigma Variations – the original theme to which remains a mystery to this day – and a wide selection of other works by the composer.

In addition we will be playing a few pieces from other British composers of the same period such as Frederick Delius, Gustav Holst and Sir Arthur Bliss – including the latter’s suite Things to Come, based on his music for William Cameron Menzies’ 1936 film adaptation of HG Wells’ book The Shape of Things to Come.

From the Library is produced by Radio Riel in conjunction with the Caledon Library in Second Life, to inform, educate and entertain. Today’s programme is presented by Elrik Merlin.

You can listen to the programme now at — the ideal URL to plug into your home parcel media address in-world — or simply visit any Caledon Library branch in-world and press Play on your embedded music player. (If you want to listen off-world, eg in Winamp or iTunes, and the above address doesn’t work for you, click here.)


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: