From the Library: Baroque e Nuovo

in Daily Programme

by Elrik Merlin on Thursday, 15 January, 2009

Today’s programme comprises a wide selection of music from the Baroque period and a selection of modern pieces too – today featuring Edinburgh-born composer Stuart Mitchell’s evocative Seven Wonders Suite for Choir and Orchestra, in which each section evokes a different Wonder of the Ancient World.

These were: The Colossus of Rhodes, the Great Pyramid at Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon. the Lighthouse at Alexandria, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, and the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus. Each piece beautifully evokes the atmosphere of these ancient sites. Today, only the Great Pyramid still exists.

In addition we will be playing an extensive selection of Baroque works ranging from Bach and Händel to the stunning South American baroque pieces uncovered by the group Ex Cathedra, and including a few of the David Rees-Williams Trio’s beautiful jazz-influenced renderings of works by Purcell, Bach and others.

From the Library is produced by Radio Riel in conjunction with the Caledon Library in Second Life. Today’s programme was produced by Elrik Merlin.

You can listen now at — the ideal URL for you to use in your home parcel media address in-world — or simply visit any Caledon Library branch in-world and press Play on your embedded music player.


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: