RAYdio Bradbury Program 01: The October Country — 6pm SLT

in Daily Programme

by Gabrielle Riel on Thursday, 12 February, 2009

Alliance Virtual Library, Alliance Library System, TAP Information Services and Radio Riel proudly present: RAYdio Bradbury, a four part series of programs focusing on four works by Ray Bradbury. Leading the discussions are Dr. Loren Logsdon professor of English at Eureka College and Bradbury scholar and Tom Peters, CEO of TAP Information Services.

Please join us in the Bradburyville Sim at http://slurl.com/secondlife/Bradburyville/38/19/24 or tune in at http://66.186.45.115:9012/live.

The RAYdio Bradbury Programs are scheduled at 6 pm SLT, 8 PM central, 9 PM Eastern on the second Thursday of each month: February 12, March 12, April 9, and May 14. Books for discussion are October Country, The Martian Chronicles, Something Wicked This Way Comes, and I Sing the Body Electric. Radio Riel will broadcast each program on the Internet. Programs are free and everyone is welcome to attend! For more information, please contact Lori Bell at the Alliance Library System at 309–694-9200 ext. 2128 or at lbell@alliancelibrarysystem.com.

Our first program, The October Country, according to Bradbury, is his purest work of fantasy. Halloween is his favorite time of the year, and the stories in this book take place in a country defined by its psychological state rather than its geography.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: